Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner of Champions

Now this… is a meal. Chorizo and eggs. Or as any good Southern-California-girlmarried-to-a-Mexican should know, Chorizo con huevos.

I almost feel guilty posting a recipe for this because it’s so ridiculously easy to make. And do two ingredients even constitute a recipe? It doesn’t matter. Chorizo and eggs are just too perfect not to blog about. And since I’m all about blogging the things I like to eat I’m going to share with you my all-time favorite Sunday morning breakfast.

If you’re not familiar with chorizo it’s a Mexican sausage typically ground and made from fatty pork. Just thinking about it makes my heart flutter. All that savory, porky goodness. Definitely my kind of food. It’s got just the right amount of spice. Enough to notice but not enough to care. And when you pair that savory chorizo with the perfect food – an egg, it’s simply a match made in food heaven. Throw in a side of avocado and it’s da’ bomb!

Here’s how I make it:

1. Crack open about 6-8 eggs into a large bowl. That’s enough for two adults and a couple of kids. If you’re hungry crack more.

2. Beat the eggs until all the yolks are broken and the whites and yolks are incorporated.

3. Grab a large frying pan and turn it on low. Cut your chorizo in half and using your fingers and starting at the closed end, squeeze out the sausage into your pan. I like a lot of chorizo so I usually squeeze some out from the other half too. Turn the heat up to medium high, cooking the chorizo until it starts to loosen up and spread out in your pan. If it’s cooking too hot too fast, turn down the heat. And don’t burn it.

4. Once the chorizo has been cooking in the pan about 5 minutes add the eggs. Stir the chorizo and eggs gently and cook until the mixture is no longer wet, but not dried out either. Similar to cooking scrambled eggs.

5. When it’s done plate it up and serve it with sliced avocados on the side. Maybe even some Tapatio.

I know what I’m eating this weekend.

Happy Eating! 🙂

Leave a comment